Testing and Spring Break

Posted on March 16, 2012

0


This week, the sophomores of my school took the California High School Exit Exam (CAHSEE). Generally it is pronounced K-See, but I prefer the name my favorite (and most useful) education professor gave it: the California Hissy.

The school stops for these tests because (a) it is vitally important to the sophomores, as they don’t graduate without passing it, and (b) it is part of the NCLB APY score for the school.

Also, since the CSTs (the majority of which makes up the other score,  API) is two weeks after we return from Spring Break, the teachers were told to concentrate on getting the students ready to take it.

I have seniors. They don’t take the CST.

There is one more day until a two-week long Spring Break.

Is it wrong of me that (a) I didn’t prep them for a test nor did I teach them anything for those two days and (b) I let them play Twister and XBox?

My justification part 1: admin really wants all bodies in class during those testing times, not bothering sophomores. My seniors were.

My justification part 2: in two months, their parents are likely to insist on college or a job for them, so their childhood (and playtime) is almost over. I “let” them play, one more time.

So why do I feel like I am bad at my job?

Posted in: School