Day 20.75 – Wrapping up an Iron Butt

Posted on August 30, 2015

0


The Iron Butt Rally project is done, I think. I will have my Math I freshmen look at it tomorrow, our late start/professional development/short classes day. They can ask questions then; hopefully I can get everything clarified. (Another big thank you to Fawn (@fawnpnguyen) for broadening my horizons into the world of endurance motorcycle riding.)

They will start Day 1 in class on Tuesday. They will have eleven school days to finish; Day 11 will be a finish up, get-er-done day on September 16th. The time between will be spend learning about Quadrilaterals and the Distance Formula; any leftover time in class can be used to work on the Iron Butt Rally.

Yes, they can use the spreadsheet to do the math…if they learn how to use spreadsheets. If they ask, I’ll give them advice..but probably no pure lessons on spreadsheets.

Side note: all I hear in my head when I see the word “spreadsheet” is Matt Parker’s (@standupmaths) fantastic show (Festival of the Spoken Nerd) about changing photographs into spreadsheets (you can do that at the bottom of the page here), or the Lego Movie.

Anyhow…back to the blog.

I’m not sure if I will give them a map of the United States and have them draw their route…I’m sure some cross-curricular learning should be in there somewhere…

Project Outline with rules

Spreadsheet of Daily Riding Activity

I’ve never done a project that relies so much on logistics rather than pure math lessons. I’m a little out of my comfort zone here. A bit scary.

Posted in: Uncategorized