Day 1 – Madness as expected…youcubed.org for Day 2

Posted on August 4, 2015

2


I wrote about how I wanted Day 1 to go in my head here. So…how close was reality to the voices in my head?

Mostly good.

The best plan that worked all day: @GWaddellNVHS’ high fives. My hallmate (the physics teacher was doing it with me) and I got complimented by the brand-new (as in: we met her Thursday) principal for making simply arriving at the correct class on the first day a celebration. Yaaaay!

The plan that has the most potential to be a really big aid in running classroom management: Mr. Vaudrey’s music. The kiddos are demanding music, but they want to pick it. I see this potentially causing problems: not everyone has the same tastes. The theme songs will work better, but I have to figure out how to start some of them on a timer in case I’m not near my computer. So…learning will have to happen. But it really got the students to do stuff quickly at the start of class when they knew it had to be done before the end of the song. Another Yaaaaay!

The nuts and bolts of the day:
First period is Integrated Math 1, a freshman class. This class was the one that didn’t go so well, the one that prompted tweaks. I didn’t want to speak at all, and that was the problem. I thought the kiddos would read and do everything asked.
Some did.
Most sat there.
First day + freshmen + first period = confusion.

I had to make the plans had to get more explicit.

Instead of having them read everything, the questions on the notecard telling me about themselves were the only reading, and even then some didn’t understand. But…I told them explicitly to write their name on the nametag (they did), put it on (they mostly did), answer the questions on the notecard (sadly incomplete), have their picture taken and give me the card (mostly, and after much whining), and collaborate on classroom environment (largely they want to eat, listen to music, and sit with their friends).

Later-in-the-day classes did better, and the senior classes did fine from the beginning.

Side note: all of my freshman classes are odd.
Odd in a mathy way: periods 1, 3, 5, and 7.
This amuses me.

Back to the debriefing:
Things weren’t perfect, but students are not robots. We laughed, they found out I am not Japanese, they found out that I am unapologetic about being inappropriate if it means they understand better (they wanted to know if it “counts” if they get the picture taken…I immediately called them Point Hos and said yes, for example…which made them stop whining about it and get it done), and I have a ton of information about them including pictures.

I’d call that a success.

Tomorrow I am doing Day 1 of the Week of Inspirational Math from Jo Boaler’s youcubed.org. Largely, tomorrow is working collaboratively in small groups to finish the Four 4s as a class.

The Statisticians, both AP and non-AP, get to collect data using cards.

From The Practice of Statistics, both 4th and 5th edition:
An airline has just finished training 25 pilots—15 male and 10 female—to become captains.  Unfortunately, only eight captain positions are available right now.  Airline managers announce that they will use a lottery to determine which pilots will fill the available positions.  The names of all 25 pilots will be written on identical slips of paper, placed in a hat, mixed thoroughly, and drawn out one at a time until all eight captains have been identified.
A day later, managers announce the results of the lottery.  Of the 8 captains chosen, 5 are female and 3 are male.  Some of the male pilots who weren’t selected suspect that the lottery was not carried out fairly.  Do these results provide convincing evidence of discrimination?

They’ll use 10 red cards (any suit) and 15 black cards (any suit) to run multiple simulations to find out the answer to the question.

