First day back from Spring Break

Posted on March 29, 2015

0


We (as in my district) have been out of school for the last two weeks.

Why two weeks? The district is a (good) weasel, and knows that since the district gets paid by Average Daily Attendance, that it is a good idea to not have school when the kiddos aren’t going to be there anyway. We have tons of kiddos who go to Mexico for Spring Break (I have one who is not coming back from Mexico for another week after the rest of us go back) to visit family, so…yeah.

Nearly everyone else has Spring Break during this coming week. Traditions…having Spring Break during Holy Week to match the Catholic schools makes things difficult for lots of people, and falls into Despair.com’s Traditions: “Just because it has always been done that way doesn’t mean it’s not incredibly stupid”. ‘

Anyway, now that I’ve managed to offend everyone…

I’m going to do a lab that I read about thanks to the MTBoS: http://www.weareteachers.com/blogs/post/2015/03/24/proving-the-myth-of-multitasking-with-a-simple-experiment

I’m going to do this tomorrow since it is our PD/Short/Late Start Day…and lots of people will be absent…and lots of the ones who are there won’t be awake.

Man, have I turned cynical or what?!?

Happy Spring Break to everyone going on one!

Posted in: Uncategorized