The Mighty MTBoS

Posted on June 14, 2014

1


The last post I wrote was a big “Thank You” to many of the members of the MathTwitterBlogoSphere. It also included a lot of, um, Thank Yous

After I posted it, my little brain was running back to multiple posts from (sometime in the) last year or so. Their common theme: Don’t turn members of the MTBoS (and their generosity) into such rock stars that you don’t remember to treat them as the creatures they are: people.

Absolutely right. I want to meet them, maybe even get to hang out with them. I got to do just that last December in Palm Springs at the Tweetup. I got to meet @ddmeyer (he’s as tall as is rumored…and super-nice), @fawnpnguyen (probably #1 on the list of people I couldn’t actually do more than thank profusely for her online generosity)…and the list could go on for quite a while, but I do ramble.

I do understand that they’re People. I also was brought up to say “Thank You” when someone does something nice for you.

@druinok, @approx_normal, @samjshah, @fouss have all been more than simply “generous”.

So, y’all, how do I find the middle ground between “obscene level of gratitude” and “yo, whassup”?

 

Posted in: #MTBoS