Four preps is really kicking my Side-Side-Angle

Posted on August 25, 2013

0


Whew. I’m almost caught up. But I write blogs better first thing in the morning than I grade first thing in the morning, so the last two classes get to wait until I’m done.

My Honors Trigonometry/Precalculus class is heading towards the ambiguous case for the Law of Sines, and, as such, they get to explore the SSA case, and why it wasn’t ever acceptable to use it in Geometry for proofs (and it wasn’t just because their Geometry teacher didn’t want to grade proofs with inappropriate language on it). SSA is part of my world this week, so it seems appropriate to say:

Four preps across six classes and more than 200 students is kicking my Side-Side-Angle.

Really bad. I took last weekend off of any grading whatsoever because it was my 10th anniversary, and the husband needs to know that he is really the most important thing in my world, not the pile of papers that seem to follow me everywhere. (He knows; he was a classroom teacher for longer than I have been in the classroom.) But I do see the light at the end of the tunnel, and feel as if I might be ready for a full week of school while having grades caught up so I can stop hearing “Mrs. A, why do I have an F?” and having no answer.

Worst of all, for me at least: I haven’t been on Twitter. I miss reading about the awesomeness that is the MTBoS and all the Tweeple who make it.

Enough whining. I did do something that someone might be able to use this week.

Since I teach some of my students Statistics in a couple of different forms, I have dice. Lots and lots of dice of every shape. So, instead of worrying about cheating too much, I have the kiddos use the dice to come up with their own numbers.

The quiz (right triangle quiz 1) lets me see that they (a) understand how to use the Pythagorean Theorem; (b) can graph a point, potentially in any quadrant; (c) can form the triangle that is traditionally formed by using a point using the appropriate “rules” for trigonometry; (d) can appropriately form all six trigonometric functions based on that triangle; and (e) read the instructions enough to follow them.

Not bad for a one-question quiz, and they can retake it as often as they like since they have to re-roll the dice to get new numbers.

They did quite well, especially after the retakes. The most common error: “Oh man, I messed up/left off/ignored the negative!”

May I find my side-side-angle somewhere in Week 4.

May all the teachers of the world find a peaceful moment sometime this week.

Posted in: School