Day 1 of 180: Meeting the new family

Posted on August 6, 2013

0


Today, I met my new family.

They are “family” because, generally speaking, I hate people in large crowds (I am a super-introverted introvert), which confuses people when they find out I teach high school. Family is ok though.

All classes made name tags for use in the next couple of weeks. I know only about 20 of the 240 in my room each day. Name tags are necessary.

On those name tags, in addition to their names, they told me their “story” without words: pictures only, with logos being fine. As Brene Brown said: I collect stories. Those little drawings give me a hint about each kiddo, and I can look them over on my schedule.

No pics yet. The first days are always a bit rough…I need a nap.

It was great though. I have six very full classes of very awesome juniors and seniors. I’m glad to be back!

Posted in: School