Day -5 of 180: First look at the new classroom

Posted on July 30, 2013

0


Today I went to school to see if I could get keys to my new classroom. I couldn’t; they doorknobs do not have locks yet. Some background: my school is OLD; they main building was built in the 50s (complete with state-of-the-art asbestos fire retardant), but the school will be celebrating their 130th anniversary next year…which is ancient in California.

The district decided to upgrade it for ADA and general modernization five years ago. Multiple stories can be told about how things went wrong (multiples of the various Murphy’s Laws can be invoked), but the construction crew is cleaning up this week; students arrive Monday. All staff in temporary buildings (I didn’t know my building was temporary, actually; it’s been there for 14 years) get to go back to the mighty rebuilt B wing.

The good news: the stuff that was supposed to be moved got moved. Here’s the views:

classroom 1 classroom 2

 

It’s nice and big; some stuff is missing, particularly the projector.

The bad news: the stuff I took home (two carloads) have to be taken back, including the 240 composition books for my probable 240 students. I do not currently have a conference period, the classes are full at 40 kiddos in each of 6 classes, and they have to be taken up to the second floor. I’ll be recruiting minions and paying them in sodas.

The “I’m happy even though I have 240 students” news: I have mainly seniors and my NHS Honors students as juniors, I love my preps (Honors Trigonometry/Precalculus (2), non-Honors Trigonometry/Precalculus (2), AP Statistics (1), non-AP Statistics (1)), and only one of them is totally new.

Posted in: School