Socks and Trees

Posted on October 11, 2012

2


In AP Statistics, we are in the land of probability. I am trying to figure out better ways to teach this. It doesn’t help that the students seem to have a level of paranoia about probability at all. I’ve stolen, borrowed, adapted, changed-to-match-a-project-to-match-the-supplies-available. Today, they got a revamped version of Blue and Red Socks from Probability Projects in the Classroom (or something like that…I mean no disrespect to the authors of the book…the book had been taken apart, and the front matter is lost to…?). It is so mangled, it needed to be retyped instead of scanned or it would be potentially lost forever (at least until I went searching online and found it somewhere else).

I’m rambling, as usual. Anyhoo…

They had to pretend to have a drawer with six socks: four red, two blue. They had to find the probability of getting a pair of red socks if drawing one at a time without replacement. Oddly (to me), the maths seemed easier to them than following the directions of the project. But they seem (so far) to understand on a general level what conditional probability is, and how to find it. We need to finish it tomorrow though.

This was waaaay more successful that using Venn Diagrams Monday to show P(A or B) = P(A) + P(B) – P(A and B). I thought that would be better. Alas.

Friday: probability and tree diagrams.

Attached: socks and trees…the Venns were straight-up scanned from books that I don’t actually have in my possession (just the scans). If anyone is interested in the scans, let me know.

If anyone has any input about the other projects, please message me. I hope everyone’s year is going well so far.

Red Stripes blue stripes (conditional probability)

Lie detector test (tree diagrams)

Posted in: AP Statistics, School