12 days in…

Posted on August 19, 2012

0


Whew.

The first weeks of school are the toughest for me. I don’t know the names of my kiddos (they are all new), and for some reason I think I can be super relaxed with them (the way I am at the end of the year) when they don’t know me either.

Names are getting better. Not perfect.

My schedule contains three periods of Trigonometry/Precalculus, one period of AP Statistics, and one period of Integrated Math, which is the class for “seniors who seriously need piles of math units in order to graduate and really have no chance of getting into college” at my school.

All of them are full (read: 40 students) except AP Stat, which has 20.

My new stuff this year:
I’m trying SBG. I’m trying not to be the “sage on the stage”. I’m trying to not fall behind on grading.

So far, I am failing on all three counts.

It is early, I know. It will get better. It doesn’t help that my ninth anniversary is this weekend (and I’m so happy to purposely take a day off for that), but that doesn’t make the grading pile any smaller. My husband and daughter make me smile, so I don’t care.

I know it will get better. Maybe by the end of the year, I’ll be able to say I’m good at SBG. I really hope so.

And I know I’m not alone. Most other teachers went back this past week or will go back next week. Respect. For all of us. May your plans for the year prove fruitful.

Posted in: School