The Formative Assessment Piece

Posted on June 13, 2012

0


In my last post, I said I would be doing many, many things differently, and that I would share resources I create in that process here.

This week, I’ve been working on  Formative Assessment. I’ve learned a ton and it has made me rethink my role.

This is going to be a long summer of “rethinking” since I look back at what I’ve done in the past. Then I think of all the research that tells me that maybe I should become better at my job. My students like me, for the most part. Because of this, they pretty much roll with whatever I throw at them. I am looking forward to seeing what they think after I throw Formative Assessments at them. If I had to guess, I would say they are definitely not going to like it. I think they want the “just give me a worksheet and quick lesson on how to do it then leave me alone!” type of activity. That is what they’ve been trained to do, after all. I am hopeful they will surprise me.

Apologies to all my former English teachers for all the grammatically-incorrect writing in that last paragraph.

On to the sharing.

Below the files I’ve finished. They are Microsoft Word in .docx form. Yes, I could save them in a .doc file, but that would take more time and I haven’t done it yet, so I’m not going to start today. Maybe tomorrow.

They are far from complete. I am making an easier-to-use version of a book from NCTM (Mathematics Formative Assessment), and it probably violates a few copyright rules. But I don’t want the whole book. I want the part I will actually use. There are tons of great things I refer to in the book. If you want more information, including (especially?) the big table that shows when to use which one, buy the book. There are 75 Assessment ideas. I think I’m up to seven of them. Wow. I have a long way to go.

agree and disagree

Agreement Circles

Always sometimes never true

Collaborative Clued Correction

comments only marking

Commit and Toss

Concept Cards

Concept Cartoon

As always, feedback is appreciated!

Posted in: School