A statistics lesson for confidence of means

Posted on April 20, 2012

0


I’m trying to be more of a producer of content than a consumer of content.

I call my non-AP Statistics class “my boys” since 16 of the 20 students are, well, boys. Following every stereotype in the book, I try to use sports and all the fabulous statistics that come with them.

They are learning about confidence intervals. We’ve already done proportions with baseball batting averages. I’ve decided to try means with basketball and points per game.

Click here for instructions: Confidence Intervals for means NBA

This is my first year teaching this, and my boys really, really don’t seem to like it much, and I tend to oversimplify their directions. They’re good guys, so they’ll try pretty much anything I give them. They seemed to enjoy the baseball lesson, more or less.

Feedback is greatly appreciated!

Posted in: Uncategorized