Day One with the iPads tomorrow…

Posted on January 25, 2012

0


I got a portable lab of iPads today. I had thought it would be a class set. The 16 in there, plus the 13 computers in my room, almost covers all of my classes for the picture in my head of how this will work. But I am on my own in trying out this picture.

The kiddos have taken three paper assessments, all from Algebra I. They will be taking more, moving up through Algebra 2 by the end of the semester. If they show Mastery, they don’t have to do anything else for that topic. If they don’t show Mastery, they have to show it via a proficient rating at the Khan Academy on similar topics, or earning a gold medal at MangaHigh.

If they are the Master of everything, they are supposed to learn something new. It doesn’t matter what. It just has to be legal.

At the end of these Internet days, they have to write something meta-cognition related and send it to me, preferably by email, but because of security concerns, notecards would be acceptable (the final four minutes or so have to be devoted to securing the iPads). GoogleDocs surveys are also preferred, but I know nothing about them. I am alone in this at the school I’m at. Only one other teacher uses technology this heavily, and he teaches English.

Baby steps. We’ll see how it goes. I am hopeful.

Posted in: School